Robert Cummings is an active West Coast based composer who has enjoyed major premieres on both the East and West Coast, as well as Mexico. His Concerto for Oboe was played by the Orange County Chamber Orchestra with Alan Vogel as soloist in 1990. The Flute Concerto had its first performance with Julius Baker as soloist two years later with the same orchestra. Recently, The New Haven Symphony premiered his Lacrymosa for the victims of 9/11, with Jung-Ho Pak conducting. In November 2003, the Orquestra Sinoloa de las Artes played his Concerto for Soprano Saxophone, with Abel Perez Piton as soloist, and Gordon Campbell conducting. Added to his more than 100 compositions, Mr. Cummings recently completed October Music for Orchestra, and Autumn Music for Orchestra. Cumming's training has included study at California State University at Los Angeles, and the University of Southern California. His teaching experience includes faculty assignments at Pepperdine University, University of Southern California, and Los Angeles Southwest
College. He was awarded the American Guild of
Organist International Improvisation Contest Prize in Performance and has been a guest soloist with the
Burbank Symphony, and has been harpsichordist with
the Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra. Robert Cummings
has performed numerous piano and organ recitals with an emphasis and expertise unparalleled in improvisation.

He has twice been nominated for The Pulitzer Prize
in composition.

Copyright© Robert Cummings. All rights reserved.